Department facilities:

The Beaufort Police Department moved to its current location at 1901 Boundary St. in 2008.

2000-08: The department was located at 990 Ribaut Rd., Suite 107.

1989-2002: The department was located inside the current Beaufort County Law Enforcement Center at 2001 Duke St.

1969-89: The department was located at 705 Port Republic St. 

1955-69: The department was located at a facility at Waterfront Park.

Former chiefs of police:

1868-1873   P. Gibbs (Town Marshal)
1873-1875   J.C. Rivers (Town Marshal)
1876-           Joseph Cohen (Town Marshal)
1912-1913   M, O’D White (Town Marshal)
1913-1914   F. G. Welch (Chief of Police)
1914-1915   E.B. Rodgers
1915-1919   Danny Mann
1919-1923   L.B. Simpson
1923-1928   John B. Cason
1928-1944   J.C. Scott
1944-1946  J. H. Vahn
1946-1948   Artie M. Heape
1948-1949   L. "Doc" Trammell
1949-1959   Lee Roy Rentz
1959-1962   Ralph C. Ramsey
1962-1965   Laurie M. Randall
1965-1966   Roger Carl Poston
1966-1967   Herbert F. Hubbard
1967-1972   Lee Roy Rentz
1972-1974   Herbert F. Hubbard
1974-1992   Jesse L. Altman Jr.
1992-2000   William R. Neill
2000-2008   J. P. Dowling

Throughout the years